The New 13th

The new 13th congressional district was created by the Illinois General Assembly in 2011. This sprawling new downstate district includes all or part of 14 counties in central and southwest Illinois. It stretches from Champaign in the east to the Mississippi River in the west. It’s a district that leans Democratic in voter make-up. In 2008, President Barack Obama won what is now the 13th District by a wide margin over John McCain— 55% to 44%.

The new district includes 4 major state universities— University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois State University, U of I-Springfield and SIU-Edwardsville. In addition, there are multiple private colleges and numerous community colleges across the district.  Some estimates say there are over 90,000 college students in the new 13th CD.

The new 13th CD has an economy based on agriculture, technology, research and health care. For many years, it was home to a large number of manufacturing businesses.  Unfortunately, bad trade deals in the last 30 years have led to many of those factories shutting down and good Illinois jobs being shipped out of the country.

The district is a real swath of America’s heartland with small towns and mid-sized cities including the state capital of Springfield. Other larger communities are Champaign-Urbana, Bloomington-Normal, Decatur and Edwardsville. The 13th district contains all or part of Bond, Calhoun, Champaign, Christian, DeWitt, Greene, Jersey, McLean, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Montgomery, Piatt, and Sangamon counties.